Living Diversity

マニラでのソーシャルワークとの出会い記録から、日本のソーシャルワーク×多文化/法的支援、インドで暮らし、働き、旅するカラフルさ、インド&野草ごはん、身体を解すこと、レジリエンス/回復についての試行錯誤を記録したく。 私もあなたも、ゆるく受けいれて生きていけるといいなと祈りながら。

Definition of Ashtanga yoga...?

Definition of Ashtanga yoga...?
Keywords would be:

Synchronising breath with movements
Flowing movements (vinyasas)


Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga as exercise created by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century,
often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga.
He claimed to have learnt the system from his teacher, Tirumalai Krishnamacharya. The style is energetic🔥🔥🔥 synchronising breath with movements.💫💫💫
The individual poses (asanas) are linked by flowing movements (vinyasas).🌀🌀🌀

This article is about a style of yoga consisting of six series founded by K. Pattabhi Jois. For the eightfold yoga path, a system first described in Patañjali's Yoga Sūtras, see Ashtanga (eight limbs of yoga).

Ashtanga Yoga, which literally means “eight-limbed yoga” , is a system outlined in the yoga sutras🕉 attributed to the ancient sage Patanjali.

The sutras consist of eight limbs or requirements to achieve full Self-realization.
They are not practiced in order, but are all developed together as one progresses on the spiritual path .
Meditation is one such technique that helps a spiritual practitioner to develop in these areas.

The limbs are:

1. Yama
2. Niyama
3. Asana
Asana is the third limb on of the path that Patanjali defined. It does not mean Hatha Yoga postures, but the ability to sit unmoving with a straight spine for long periods of time. (Hatha Yoga postures can help one to do this, if one is physically able to practice them.)

4. Pranayama🧘
Pranayama means control over energy in the body. ✨
If one can control one’s energy, then one can withdraw it from the outer senses and up the spine, thereby raising one’s consciousness.
Traditionally pranayama is used to mean control over the breath, but it is actually controlling the ✨✨energy✨✨ in the body via control of the breath.

5. Pratyahara
Pratyahara is the interiorization of one’s attention and thoughts.

6. Dharana
Dharana is concentration; one-pointed focus.

7. Dhyana
Dhyana means steadfast meditation on God or the Higher Self.

8. Samadhi
Samadhi is complete absorption in the Infinite — literally “oneness.”